CVCC holds graduation for Manufacturing Academy

By Mary Reynolds, PIO Catawba Valley Community College

November 2018 Manufacturing Academy Graduates
Pictured are graduates (front, from left) Herbert “Randy” Shirley, Jr., Tiffany Ford, Brett Dorrier, Andres Chavez, Jennifer Abernethy, (back) Jason Chal, Chris Sherbino, Buddy Hammer, Amy Meyer Helms, Freddy “Alex” Raymundo, and Justin Reyes.

Catawba Valley Community College recently held a ceremony for its Catawba Valley Manufacturing Academy graduates.

The Catawba Valley Manufacturing Academy was developed jointly by local manufacturers unable to find skilled workers to fill vacant positions. The goal is to produce job candidates prepared for positions that are in high demand. Completers are fast-tracked for open positions with sponsoring companies.

Based upon the Governor’s Award winning Catawba Valley Furniture Academy model, the Manufacturing Academy teaches skills in problem solving, math and measurements, teamwork and communication, OSHA 10 safety, and introduction to LEAN/continuous improvement processes.

The graduates include Jennifer L. Abernethy, Jason Chal, Andres F. Chavez, Brett A. Dorrier, Tiffany Hedrick Ford, Buddy Hammer, Amy Meyer Helms, Fredy Alexander Raymundo, Justin Ray Reyes, Chris Sherbino, and Herbert R. Shirley, Jr.

Sponsors of incumbent workers enrolled in the academy include Hickory Springs Manufacturing, Sarstedt, Inc., and VonDrehle Corporation.


For more information about the next Manufacturing Academy class, call 828-327-7000, ext. 4294.