CVCC Holds Graduation For Manufacturing Academy

2016 Manufacturing Academy June GradsCatawba Valley Community College recently held a graduation ceremony for its third group of Catawba Valley Manufacturing Academy graduates.

The class includes Darrell W. Absher, Conover; James E. Allen, Lenoir; Charles Barrett, Hudson; Olga Carpenter, Hickory; Anisha R. Godfrey, Rutherford College; Denise A. Hollar, Granite Falls; Dwayne A. Jewell, Hickory; Taylor H. Kay, Hickory; Travis Maynard, Taylorsville; Michael J. Miller, Hickory; Dewayne D. Ramseur, Newton; Scott E. Reid, Granite Falls; Richard L. Setzer, Hickory; Mark R. Sigmon, Hickory; Billy S. Travis, Claremont; Stephanie Wells, Valdese; and Blai Yang, Hickory.

The Catawba Valley Manufacturing Academy was developed jointly by local manufacturers unable to find skilled workers to fill vacant positions. The goal is to produce job candidates prepared for positions that are in high demand. Completers are fast-tracked for open positions with sponsoring companies.

Based upon the Governor’s Award winning Catawba Valley Furniture Academy model, the Manufacturing Academy teaches skills in problem solving, math and measurements, teamwork and communication, OSHA 10 safety, and introduction to LEAN/continuous improvement processes.

Corporate underwriters of scholarships for this class include Advance Pierre Foods, Bernhardt, Catawba County Chamber of Commerce, CommScope, Shurtape, GKN Driveline, HSM Solutions, ManPower, Turbotec Products and United Beverages of NC.

For more information about the next Manufacturing Academy class starting August 1, contact Jennifer Eversole, Administrative Assistant, at 828-327-7000, ext. 4394,